The Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Ever

A few days ago, I plopped Simon into his carseat and we set off the store to buy ingredients to make cookies. That evening, I didn’t feel like making them, but by about 10 PM that night,

my cup of tea was lonely.

Doesn’t that tea looks like it needs a cookie? I’ve had my mind on oatmeal raisin. There is no “go-to” oatmeal raisin recipe around here, so I set out on an internet search. Whenever I’m searching for something where there are going to be about 380,000 search results, I try to narrow it down by only searching for “The Best”. In this case, “The Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe”. That narrows it down to a mere 140,000 links. I find it hard to believe that all 140,000 of those are the best. Or even just plain good. In fact, I’ve had varying success with this search technique. This time though, it did not fail.

This time, it made the Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Ever. These spread into beautiful circles; some of the prettiest cookies I’ve ever made. They are light and crispy yet wonderfully chewy at the same time. Plus, the dots of purple and golden raisins? Plump little jewels that are both pretty and delicious. You can’t go wrong with trying these!

You Need:
1 1/2 cups of margarine (room temperature, please)
1 1/3 cups (10.5oz) sugar
1 1/3 cups (10.5oz) brown sugar
5 Tbsp ground flax seed (flax meal)
6 Tbsp water
1/4 cup applesauce
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
3 cups quick oats
2 cups plus 2 Tbsp (8.5oz) flour
3/4 cup almond meal
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup golden raisins
3/4 cup purple raisins

You Will:
1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the oats, flour, almond meal, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.

3. Cream together the margarine and both sugars with your mixer. When the mixture is light and fluffy, step away. Take the water and flax meal, and whip it together so that the flax starts to gel. You can work and maybe do this with a small whisk, but a small food chopper or Magic Bullet, would be the perfect tool for this. Restart the mixer that has the creamed margarine and sugar in it, and add the flax mixture until well combined, followed by the applesauce, and the vanilla.

4. Keeping the mixer on a slower speed, add the dry ingredients gradually, until everything is well mixed. Fold in the raisins.

5. Drop 2 Tbsp balls of the cookie dough on an ungreased cookie sheet. Pat them down a bit, and leave plenty of room, they will spread (I fit 6 to a sheet). When the edges are just slightly brown, remove the cookies from the oven, around 10 to 12 minutes.

6. Cool completely, dunk in tea. I know, you’ll eat one anyway, but they’re best when they’ve cooled.

Yield: ~4 dozen

Doesn’t that tea look happier now?

This recipe came from someone writing in to the LA Times looking for the recipe they loved from Auntie Em’s Kitchen; a place I’ve never been to or heard of. I have made quite a few substitutions; for one, I’ve made them vegan, hence the margarine (Earth Balance sticks), flax meal, and applesauce. Not into flax? I’m sure they’re great with eggs too. But flax is good for you…just saying. I had to make some other changes, and I’m happy to call them “my version”, but they are still indication enough that if I’m ever in the area…I want to go to Auntie’s.

So if by chance, you got here by searching for “The Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe Ever“, you are in luck. Because this is it. You’ll be glad you weeded through the 89,800 search results to find it!

6 thoughts on “The Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Ever

  1. have you seen foodblogsearch.com? i use it when looking for recipes rather than just googling because it searches only food blogs, which provide context about how the recipe turned out to help you pick a good recipe to use.

    • I have not! I get a lot of my recipes from AllRecipes and Food.com though, and ones touted “Best” always have tons of reviews. I like this though, I’ll have to try it!

  2. Pingback: The Last Ten Pounds – Entry 4: Update | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

  3. Pingback: New Baby Knitting | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

Leave a Reply

