The Bon Jovi of Bedtime

“I feel like I am in a band, and I really want to play my own stuff, but you just keep screaming for me to play some Bon Jovi”

Bon Jovi, Bon Jovi, Bon Jovi!

My husband said that tonight as he was reading Simon his bedtime stories.

And what exactly is the Bon Jovi of bedtime stories?
Why, it is none other than “Cat”, by Matthew Van Fleet.

We know all the words.

He is also cool with some Van Halen:

And likes to end with Lynard Skynard (please Dad, please just read ‘Freebird’):

 

We read to Simon a lot. He gets at least 3 stories every morning, and the same at night.  His little library is growing quickly!

As you can see in the picture of him, he is 8 months old today! I don’t know where the time had gone, and I know everyone always says they grow fast, but I can’t believe he is already 2/3 of a year old. Its freaking me out a little. But, one of my favorite things to see is him developing his own preferences. He really does love ‘Cat’. His Dad was reading him another book, and he was fussing and squirming, and…as soon as he put that book down and opened up ‘Cat’, he was mesmerized. Just wait until he gets older and realizes that those furry tails are cool to pet and he can push the squeaky toy himself. It will clearly be timeless.

When I was pregnant, my dad asked me all the time if I had started reading to him yet, and what I was reading him. Apparently, my mom read to me before I was born, and they swear I recognized ‘Goodnight Moon’. Simon heard ‘Goodnight Moon’ and ‘The Cat in the Hat’ quite often while he was in utero.  He also listened to a lot of music, via my Lullabelly. I don’t think he heard Bon Jovi though, Dad must be playing that in the car when Mom isn’t around…

 

Leave a Reply

