‘Taste This’ , October

One of my favorite thing about having a blog, and specifically one that caters to food, is finding new foodstuffs and talking about them.  While not always exotic or foreign, its still fun to say “Look what I found” and either “Go try it!” or “Stay away!”.  I’m going to try and hoard it all for one big post at the end of the month.  This is that post.

First, can you believe it’s the end of October?  I almost have a 9 month old!

Anyway, I had two new tastes this month that I wanted to share.

The first is, technically, kind of foreign. I’ve heard of this before, but couldn’t believe when I saw it on a shelf at Hannaford.


Looks like peanut butter.

But is definitely not made from peanuts.

This is seriously a jar of ground up cookies.

Is it delicious? Yes. Can I think of anything to eat it on besides fruit? No. I mean, if I have to choose between European spreads that are fairly common in the US…I’d choose Nutella. And I like Nutella (as well as nut butters), on Nilla wafers. With this…I don’t know, cookie on cookie sounds a little risque.  If you can think of something you’d like to put it on, then I say go ahead and try it.  If not…you’re probably better just sticking with your PB.

But wait, there was another discovery this month!

You are most likely at least somewhat familiar with Laughing Cow cheese. Either the mini wheels coated in red wax, or the triangles wrapped in foil. Today, we are talking about the latter.

I saw that they had come up out with flavors about a month ago.  I put it off and put it off…but I finally gave in.  I had to try at least one.

 

 

 

So I tried two.

You know how  it goes, full of flavor, delicious snack, only 35 calories a wedge, yada yada yada. What’s the yada here? Okay, so these might be low in calories, but they’re not good for you. They’re full of sodium, and well…they’re a shelf stable cheese-product for goodness sake. Eat in moderation please. And you can believe Simon won’t be having them for a long while.

But you will want to enjoy in moderation, these are good!   The packages I picked up were Blue Cheese and Queso Fresco with Chipotle.  I wasn’t sure how well these specific flavors would come through in a little wedge, but they’re pretty intense. So I made stuff with them.

I had bought dates and (real) blue cheese last week, with intentions of making some stuffed dates. If you know me, you are thinking “Uh, why? You hate blue cheese.” Yeah…that is mostly true. I really like that salad…you know, with the cranberries, and the walnuts, and the blue cheese. Sure, I pick out the big chunks of cheese and give them to whomever I’m with, but the general flavor is still there. When I saw these wedges, I was actually hoping for a milder blue cheese flavor.

I was let down. This packs a blue cheese punch. I used it to make my stuffed dates.

First, plain. 1/3 of a wedge per date works nicely.

Then, with a walnut, for some crunch.

If you’re a blue cheese fan, this is perfect (my husband liked it).  Personally, I would cut it with a little low fat cream cheese.

The other variety, Queso Fresco and Chipotle, I can eat straight out of the package. Maybe on some crackers, if I were to be more ladylike (but I’m not). But it also reminded me of something I made a few years ago with some black beans, and I decided I would give cooking with it a shot and made Creamy Chipotle Black Beans.

You Need:
2 wedges Laughing Cow Light Queso Fresco and Chipotle Cheese
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp cumin
1/2 cup vegetable broth

You Will:
1. Heat a pan over medium high heat with cooking spray. Add the onion, garlic, and cumin, and cook until soft.
2. Add a bit of vegetable broth, and the beans. Simmer until warmed through, then add the cheese and the rest of the broth.
3. Stir until the cheese is melted and well incorporated, then simmer for about 10 minutes, until beans taste done.

You shouldn’t need any salt. There is already enough in the cheese. This is not spicy though, if you want a kick, you could add some chipotle powder, plain chili powder, or a few pinches of cayenne.

We had this over some sweet potatoes, and it made for a pretty quick and filling dinner. I really like this cheese as well. I don’t know how strong the queso fresco taste really is, since it is a mild cheese to begin with, but you can definitely taste the chipotle.

No picture of my messy messy baby, but he loved his sweet potato.  It was all over his face, his hands, his tray. Tasty to eat and fun to squish.  He also adores broccoli, so if you ever wonder why you always see him eating broccoli, that’s why.  It’s always been my fall back veggie, and now its his too.

So a pretty good start to the week!  Simon and I have a busy week planned, but we’ll be sure to check in again!

One thought on “‘Taste This’ , October

Leave a Reply

