Avocado Enchiladas

I don’t consider myself a Mexican aficionado, but this is one our staples. So I do dare to say that I make a pretty good vegetarian enchilada.  I initially made this recipe when I was pregnant, and wanted to make food that could be frozen for after Simon was born.  This never made it to the freezer.  I decided it wouldn’t freeze well…after we ate it all. We have had this many times since then.  I’ve made it for family, friends, and just us, about a dozen times.  And I rarely make the same thing twice, let alone that many times.  But this is a fool proof crowd pleaser, and it filling enough for both vegetarians and omnivores. Black Bean Avocado Enchiladas You Need: 2 ripe avocados 1 tsp salt 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed 1 onions, chopped 2 cloves garlic, minced 1 Tbsp olive oil 1 tsp chili powder 1 tsp cumin 1/4 tsp allspice salt and pepper to taste 1 cup frozen corn 12 6-inch corn or flour tortillas 2 14oz cans enchilada sauce Optional: chipotle chile powder, cheese You Will: Heat the oil in a large pan. Add the onions and garlic, and stir until they start to get translucent. Add spices, beans, and corn, season to taste. Cook, turning until the corn defrosts. Remove from heat. Remove flesh from avocado and place in a large bowl. Add 1 tsp salt, and mash well. There can be chunks, but not to large. Mix in the bean mixture, until well distributed. Pour one can of enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. If you choose the option, sprinkle on a bit of the chipotle chile powder. Place tortilla on a clean surface. Add 2 heaping Tbsp of filling to the tortilla, and roll. I like to smear a bit of the enchilada sauce on one half of the tortilla, just to help it stick. Roll tightly, and place into baking dish seam side down. Repeat until filling is gone and baking dish is filled.  I usually have 10, and then can fit 2 on the side: Cover with second can of enchilada sauce, and sprinkle with cheese, if you desire. Bake, covered, at 400 degrees for 17 minutes. Remove cover, and bake for an additional 5 minutes. Yummy. I always roll my eyes a little when my husband asks for this, but then while I’m making it, I remember how fast it really is. And then I remember how good it is. Sometimes I make rice, and we are always so full. This time I just sliced some mango on the side, and we were happy. A note about tortillas:  First, I know they seem small, but you definitely want 6 inch tortillas!  You can use either corn or flour tortillas. If you are a Top Chef fan, you should know that enchiladas are traditionally made with corn tortillas. Make them with flour, and you’ll get sent home (if you aren’t a Top Chef fan, that happened to the guy who was eliminated first this season). But I’m not on Top Chef, so I have made them with both. Flour is much easier to work with. Corn tortillas can be crumbly, but I think are a little more delicious. The tortillas I used this time, were a mix, which was totally perfect.  If you like, you can warm them first, which might make them easier to work with, but as they start to cool, watch out: they stick, they rip, they are no longer useable. It isn’t worth it, in my opinion. So now we are well fed, and ready to face this last week before Christmas head on! I have so much to do, it’s going to be a busy one. Does anyone ever actually feel prepared? I still have presents to make, not to mention the pile that needs to be wrapped! We haven’t even watched “Elf” yet! Hope you are closer to being “done” than I am. Enjoy your week!

4 thoughts on “Avocado Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Blogdentity | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

Leave a Reply

