Sometimes, I Run

We’ve been at my parents’ house for a few days now. They got a treadmill a few weeks ago, so I’ve gotten to use that. But this is also home my favorite outdoor running route. There are lots of hills, some that I just plain refuse to run, but I have ran this route so many times over the past 5 years or so that I’ve been running, that it is not only great for the familiarity, but it is a great gage of my general fitness level.

I stepped outside with my husband on Christmas Eve, breathed in that chilly winter air, and started making our way down the pavement. After the past week of rushing around buying ingredients, eating cookies, packing, wrapping, and definitely not working out, being outside, to run, was such a great feeling.

The run itself – was okay. It is about a 3.25 mile loop, and the last 0.25 is up up uphill, then uphill some more, and I was content to walk that this time. We were just happy to be outside.

But, that was the last that I’ve run. I much prefer to run outside, even, dare I say, especially in the cold. Christmas Eve was 3 days ago though, and I haven’t gotten outside again, or been able to use the treadmill anymore. I keep telling myself that we will run more at my in laws’, whose house we leave for tomorrow. We will just have to wait and see if that is true.

This has me thinking today, about what makes someone “a runner” vs. “someone who runs”. In the end, I couldn’t really come up with any definition, although I could think of examples. There is no quantifying measure, not in your mileage, not in your shoes, not in the accessories you’ve acquired for the sport. So I could call myself a runner, but I just don’t feel it. Sometimes though, I run.

20111227-132400.jpg

I like running because it is easy. You put on shoes, you walk out the door. No fancy outfit, no racquet to carry, no bike to maintain. I don’t like running because it is hard. I’m not naturally good at it. It is work for me to not be huffing and puffing. I love running because when I do work hard to improve at it, is when I am the most fit. I hate running because…it is hard! I know I’m not the first to say it, but I definitely have a love-hate relationship with running.

Right now, I am trying to focus on my third point there. It is when I run regularly that I am rewarded with looking, but more importantly, really feeling my best. The haze of Christmas is lifting, and while I keep us busy and there is always an excuse, I feel an internal momentum that this week is the time to get back on track. Since Simon was born, I’ve yet to really get back to being myself, and I feel like that time is now. So I need to follow through on taking the responsibility to do that!

I’ll start tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes, I Run

  1. Pingback: Blogdentity | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

Leave a Reply

