Oatmeal Yarn Jar

When I was pregnant with Simon, I decided I was going to learn to knit.  I taught myself via the internet, and now I can’t stop!  It is probably my favorite hobby now, I always have a project going.  I can only get to it when Simon is sleeping though, so I haven’t actually completed too many projects since he’s been born.  I did get a few Christmas presents done though this year though.

Okay, that’s kind of a lie.  I finished one Christmas present, I still have some left of my mom’s present.  It’s so close to being done.

Anyway, last year I was at my friend’s house, and she had this yarn container.  Just a plastic container with a hole on the top that the yarn pulls up through.  Something like this

I thought it was the greatest idea.  She had a little one running around, as well as two dogs, and it was such a great way to keep the yarn out of their little paws.  Now I have a little one (almost) running around, and the cats love to sleep on knitted works in progress.

I had all but forgotten about the jar, but then I read about this great idea to do the same thing using an oatmeal container in the Pocket Posh Tips for Knitters book my mom got me for Christmas.  My current project is using two balls of yarn held together, and they’re a pain to put away in my bag, and we were just about to finish a jar of oatmeal and…well it just seemed like fate.  Time to make my Oatmeal Yarn Jar.

You Need:
an empty oatmeal jar, inside wiped down (I used a baby wipe)  
a paper bag
glue
scissors
measuring tape
whatever embellishments you want (I used glitter glue, ribbon, and scrap yarn)

You Will:
Cut a small hole in the top of the oatmeal container.

Measuere the height and circumference of the oatmeal container, and measure out the paper bag to fit. You probably want to measure it a little bit longer around, so there is some overlap.

I ironed the paper, under a piece of fabric, before applying glue to the back of the paper bag, and apply the paper to the oatmeal container.

Make it pretty.

I love my yarn jar, I’m so excited about it! When you’re done, just put the yarn in the container, and pull it through the hole in the lid.

There’s plenty of room for variation here too; use a smaller container (small oatmeal container, breadcrumbs), use a different shaped box, like a shoebox, and put a couple different skeins in it if you’re doing a project with different colors. I even remember when I was younger, my mom had a box that came with a bunch of different balls of ribbon in it, that all pulled out through different holes. So you could do something like that with ribbon, or even embroidery floss.

Like I said, this isn’t my idea, but its such a good one, how could I not share?  Now my knitting will more organized, neater, and won’t be covered in cat hair…unlike everything else in my life!

Pin It

One thought on “Oatmeal Yarn Jar

  1. Pingback: One Last Gift | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

Leave a Reply

