Cooking: Cumin Quinoa

When I first started using cumin, I pronounced it {cue-min}.  Now I pronounce it {coo-min}.

I have no idea why, but I can probably blame it on the Food Network.

Anyway, we do like cumin.  Who doesn’t?  In fact, the last time I bought some, I bought it jumbo-size.  It has such a distinct, mild flavor, which can be mixed with other spices to make a stellar chili, or it can stand up on its own.

Today, I asked it to do just that, stand on its own, along with another funny to pronounce edible, quinoa.  Say it with me, {keen-wah}.  It took me awhile to be comfortable saying that one.  Even knowing how, it felt silly.  But it isn’t silly.  It is yummy.  And cumin and quinoa together?  Double good.

Cumin Quinoa

You Need:
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 cup quinoa, rinsed
2 tsp cumin
3 cloves garlic, minced or pressed
2 – 2 1/2 cups of water
salt
juice of 1/2 a lemon
1/2 cup golden raisins
1/2 cup shelled pistachios

You Will:
1. Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add garlic, saute briefly, then add the cumin. Add 2 cups of water, then the rinsed quinoa. Reduce heat to simmer.
2. Add the raisins. Let simmer, adding more water if necessary, until quinoa is done (when it is tender, and the little rings begin to separate). Remove from heat, add lemon juice, and season to taste.
3. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes, before adding the pistachios*.
*Be careful with your seasoning if you are using salted pistachios!

This came out so nicely, warm and mellow; pretty in an earthy kind of way, studded with the raisins and nuts. We discovered Simon likes mushrooms this weekend, so we had it alongside some marinated and (pan) grilled portobello mushrooms. Not including the marinating time (which I had thrown together earlier in the day), this was a true 30 minute meal. And since I pressed my garlic, I didn’t even have to take out a cutting board. Sometimes, the kitchen is a mess, you’ve been working on other things all day, you just just don’t want something elseto clutter your space. This cumin quinoa fits that order perfectly.

Although it is a little bit of a tongue twister; Cumin quinoa, cumin quinoa, cumin quinoa…

By the way, if you’re wondering, you “should” be saying {coo-min keen-wah}, according to the American Spice Trade Association (who knew?).

5 thoughts on “Cooking: Cumin Quinoa

Leave a Reply

