Make More Bread

Breadmaking, is an art form.  Once practiced, you will just know when bread has risen enough.  The feel of the perfectly kneaded dough will instinctively tell you, to stop.  When the crust darkens to a sumptuous golden brown, you will remove it and have perfect golden homemade sandwich bread.  You will be able to slice it into perfect dense but springy slices, and make lovely sandwiches with it for your family all week.

Unfortunately, I do not have this knowledge yet.  But this week I did start on one of my New Year’s Resolutions, to bake more bread this year.  I thought I was using a fairly simple recipe, but it was a bit of a flop.

First, came the King Arthur Flour 100% Whole Wheat Bread recipe.

Everything was mixed, kneaded, and rose.  It all seemed to be going well.

After rising the second time

I was fairly happy when it first came out of the oven.  It looked like bread.

With almond butter for breakfast

After it was cooled and I was able to slice into it, it was obvious that all was not right with this bread.  It was dry and crumbly.  It doesn’t taste bad, we have been eating it.  It is just nothing like sandwich bread.

 

Hummus and tomato "sandwich"

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I do like having homemade bread, since I don’t give Simon too much of the store-bought variety. In fact, I’ve only very recently started giving him wheat products at all, since they were bothering him tummy previously.

So I will just keep working on it!  If anyone has bread-making tips, or loved recipes, I am open to any type of suggestions.  My hopes are that this December, I will be able to return to this post and laugh at this first loaf of bread, and gloat at how far I’ve come.

If not, maybe I’ll be getting a bread machine for Christmas.

7 thoughts on “Make More Bread

  1. In college, I used a super good recipe from allrecipes.com but do not recall the name. If I find it, I’ll let you know.

    My husband nagged at me that I can eat a whole loaf of store-bought bread in a week and I do! I need to get back into my baking bread habit; it was so freakin’ fun!

  2. Homemade bread has always intimidated me, but just last week, I made my first ever solo batch of sourdough. I’d watched my mom make it for years, but feeding the starter every few days, baking the bread, etc. seemed like a big undertaking. Surprisingly though, it was fairly simple and so worth the effort. Mine doesn’t taste as good as my mom’s, but it’s always better when mom makes it.
    P.S. Almond butter makes everything better. 🙂

    • I saw your sourdough 🙂 What CD left of it looked delicious! I am with you on the started seeming like a lot of work, but I know my husband would be thrilled with sourdough. Maybe later this year, haha.

  3. Mmm homemade bread. If you’re looking for a great gluten-free bread mix (in other words, I am visiting you guys) Pamela’s Products Wheat-Free & Gluten-Free is the best! Bob’s Red Mill is good too for a heartier bread (and they have non-g-free mixes as well).

Leave a Reply

