Raspberry Valentine’s Day Mousse

Do you ever make something that you are so excited about that you just can’t wait to share it? I love that feeling, especially when it is a culinary creation. Times like this make me happy I have a blog!

I’ve seen instructions for coconut whipped cream circulating the internet and especially Pinterest lately. It kind of makes me chuckle, because I cut out a recipe for coconut whipped cream a few years ago from an issue of Living Without that I read while I was visiting my in-laws (my sister in law follows a gluten free diet). Yes, I saved it.

I never actually tried it myself though. I don’t eat a lot of whipped cream, so it wasn’t something I was really dying to recreate. Perusing Pinterest one day though, I saw this version by Chocolate Covered Katie, and I had to try it, immediately. Well, at least as immediately as you can try anything that has to be chilled overnight.

It was so good! I ate it straight out of the bowl, so I don’t have a photo to share. Also, this isn’t what I’m excited about.

Believe it or not, I’m not really a huge chocolate person. I would choose fruity or just plain sugary any day over chocolate. Vanilla ice cream trumps its dark counterpart, and I’ve never had a chocolate birthday cake. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll eat chocolate (clearly), but it just isn’t what I would choose.

This, is what I would choose.

The same method, just with raspberries. With fresh fruit and coconut milk, you have a super simple Raspberry Mousse.

You Need:
1 can coconut milk
1/2 cup fresh raspberries
dry sweetener – 1 Tbsp for sugar, less for stevia, both work (optional)
1/2 tsp xanthan gum (optional)

You Will:
Set your can of coconut milk in the refrigerator, preferably overnight, until completely chilled. The top layer will get very thick. Spoon this off, separating it from the water on the bottom. Save the water (its great for smoothies!), and put the thick cream in the bowl of a stand mixer, or use a bowl and handheld beaters. Add in the raspberries, and whisk on low speed until smooth, creamy, and sweetly pink.

If you want to add xanthan gum, add it now. I suggest the xanthan gum because of the moisture content of the raspberries. It really brings it together and makes it nice and thick, quickly. It also works well if you got more coconut water in your mousse than you should have. If you don’t have the gum, and do have the time, you could also just put it back in the fridge for a bit to let the coconut cream cool again. Simple.

My game was off with the photos tonight, this is much more pink that it looks in the pictures! Perfectly bubblegum pink, exactly what you would expect from raspberries.

Share it with someone you love, the coconut cream makes this pretty decadent! Perfect for a Valentine’s Day treat!

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Valentine’s Day Mousse

  1. Pingback: Taste This: TJ Snacks | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

Leave a Reply

