I Think I Can, I Think I Can

Simon’s grandparents brought up a big box of books from when my husband was small when they came for his birthday. One of them was “The Little Engine That Could”. I love reading Simon books that we read as kids, and this is one of the best. Truly a classic.

Now, every time I sit down to crochet, I feel like that little blue engine chugging over the mountain. “Chain 1, Single Crochet 1, I Think I Can, I Think I Can”.

The good news is, that little engine was right. Show some perseverance and it will happen. Say hello to my first completed crochet project:

This simple dishrag was a labor of love, I’m telling you. I started it, asked my friend who is an expert crochet-er a bunch of questions, read books, looked at tutorials, and gave up. I found another pattern, started on that, but it was so simple I got bored. So I ripped it out, went back to original, and suddenly it all made wonderful, perfect, sense.

It was smooth sailing after that, and except for the small knitting break I took, it came together pretty quickly. I’d love to have a whole set of knit and crocheted cotton dishrags, but unfortunately they’re kind of boring.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Like most things I make, it is not without out fault. I am most certainly not a perfectionist when it comes to crafting. If I can find an acceptable way to make it look okay, and it isn’t integral to the structure of what I’m making, I’ll usually power through. The main problem here? Tension.

You can see that the right side is a bit wider than the left. The tension got tighter and tighter as I went on. I realized it, and tried to loosen up a bit as I went, but the effort was futile. Not that it matters, it is just a dishrag, but its something to at least keep in mind for the future.

I have my sights set on another project already, something that is also a small “beginner” project, but looking at the pattern is already totally confusing. I’m sure I will be able to get through it as well, and hopefully have something super cute to show one of these days, but in the meantime, at least I know I can make a dishrag! Who knows, maybe I will end up with that dishrag set after all.

4 thoughts on “I Think I Can, I Think I Can

  1. Hi! I found you while reading some of the comments over at Chocolate Covered Katie. Bravo on your knitting accomplishments! I started teaching myself a few years ago – after a couple failed attemps to figure out holding the needles, casting on, etc. – and I’ve graduated to knitting hats on circular needles. It’s so rewarding! There are so many things I’ve said I can’t do… like just this week I *finally* sat down to figure out my mom’s old sewing machine. And I made something! Good luck – just google something if you can’t figure it out; much of the time the solution is really easy. A really easy, cute knit to whip up is a mug sleeve; it’s pretty short and you can play around with the colors and patterns.

    • Hey there! Glad you found me! I love knitting! I definitely used google a lot when I started, but I also really loved the knitting help app, lol. It is harder than I expected to translate that knowledge into crochet, for sure.

      I need to work on some stuff with color, so far I’ve really only done one yarn, and I’d really like to try some intarsia!

  2. It turned out great! You should see the first crochet project I ever made (a very very basic baby blanket). One end was a good bit wider than the other. That’s a pretty common problem šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see what you start whipping up in the future (and major thanks for linking to me!)

Leave a Reply

