An Eggceptionally Eggcellent Egg Hunt

I don’t know if I’ve made this clear enough yet, but I love Easter.  I love everything about Easter.  Last year Simon was only 3 months old, and I dragged him and my husband to the Easter egg hunt on base.  It rained, so it was indoors, in the food court, with about 100 kids.  Very crowded.  Needless to say he didn’t get any Easter eggs.  Well, he did, but it had already been emptied and tossed aside, post-mayhem.

What the heck is going on here, Mom??

Rather than suffer the same fate this year, we had our own Easter egg hunt at our house!  Everyone brought a dozen eggs, filled with little toys, bracelets, and bows, and after quickly “hiding” them, the kids were off on their Easter egg adventure.

What do you mean, put it in the bucket?

You mean, bang them together?

Like this?  

Yes, Simon, just like that!

The kids were pretty cute running (walking/toddling) around the front yard looking for their eggs.  Simon was really confused about taking them from their hiding places, but he did eventually put the ones I handed him in the bucket.  Smart little guy.

Of course it wouldn’t be a party without some sort of food, and I kind of went the easy way out this time:

Angel food cake + strawberries + chocolate =

With an empty bowl for toothpicks, and a bowl of extra chocolate, we were set to party.  The chocolate was just a ganache, 8 oz of chocolate and 1/2 cup of cream.  If you are wondering how I kept it warm enough to dip, that is a great question,  because it solidified way faster than I thought it would.  I always put ganache in the refrigerator to set up, so I hoped it would stay melted long enough.  Not true, and really, I knew better.  Oh well.  When life gives you ganache, make Easter truffles, right?

All in all, it still went over fairly well.

Do you have any fun Easter plans?  My husband has a 4 day weekend, so we have a bunch of things planned from not so fun (yard work) to lots of fun (the zoo!).  We are looking forward to continuing the Easter fun this weekend!

3 thoughts on “An Eggceptionally Eggcellent Egg Hunt

  1. So happy that Simon’s second easter egg hunt seemed to go so much better! Did you make the Angel Foodcake or buy it? We’re doing fruit salad for dessert for Easter and I thought an Angel Foodcake would go nicely with it.

    • I did not make the angel food cake. In fact, I have only made angel food cake from a box mix. I got much more into baking from scratch when I was vegan, and there is absolutely no vegan version of angel food cake, so I’ve never gone there. It would go perfectly with fruit salad though! Let me know if you try it yourself, I don’t even know how easy or difficult it is!

Leave a Reply

