Playtime

Hello, my name is Gina, and I have a toddler.

I was in denial for awhile, but its true, Simon is officially walking.  We spent much of our weekend playing outside, walking around the yard.  All he really wants to do is hold someone’s hand, or push his new bubble mower from his uncle, and walk, walk, walk.

So while Simon got some time playing outside with his new toy (and Daddy put the new raised garden beds in the ground), Mommy got to play with her newest toy.

I can barely even say that I have a working knowledge of SLR cameras, so don’t judge.  I’m just playing with the automatic settings for now, until I have some time to learn what I’m doing.  But my hopes are that once I do learn, I’ll have Simon’s first little photo shoot to come back to and look at where I started.

That’s a mighty big camera, mom.

Mowing, mowing, mowing.  It would be too dangerous, but handy, if it actually mowed.

Really, we’re still doing this?

Hard to keep the hair out of his eyes lately.

He is up to 7 teeth now!

His hair might be getting a little bit long, but I can’t bear to cut it yet.

Make sure everyone sees my new necklace.

Whoa, can I chew on that thing?

Okay, camera off, I’m done.

I really am starting to think that maybe he needs a haircut.  But most of the time I just think he looks plain adorable and just can’t do it.  For those of you with kids, boys or girls, when did they get their first haircut?  Did they love it or hate it?  Did you love it or hate it?  Even though it is getting pretty shaggy, I don’t forsee it getting cut anytime soon.  I just don’t think either of us will like it!

Anyway, in addition to these being the first pictures I’ve done with this camera, they are also totally unedited.  While editing is on the list of things to learn, it ranks pretty low.  Still, I love the camera so far, and I’m really glad the warm weather is creeping upon us.  Simon and I have a whole summer of photo shoots ahead of us!

6 thoughts on “Playtime

  1. Hi Gina, since you left me a comment I thought I’d pop over and say hi too! What a beautiful little boy you have! My baby Joe is just about to start walking (I think!), it is really bittersweet isn’t it – in one way so exciting, but he’s definitely not a baby any more, it all goes so quickly! Amy Xxx

    PS. I’d put off haircuts as long as possible, he’s got lovely hair : )

    • I’m glad the general consensus so far is no haircut! So many little boys his age seem to have already gotten one, but…maybe their hair just isn’t as cute as his! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Congratulations on your new camera! It really is so much fun to use a dslr, especially when you have such an adorable subject!

Leave a Reply

