Last Minute Dinner

We are leaving for vacation in a matter of hours, and I am on my blog.  Which can only mean one thing.

I am packed!

Or should I say “we” are packed.  Days of packing for one are long over.  I watch my husband pack with envy.  No worrying about remembering Simon’s toothbrush, or comb, or socks.  Scratch that, no socks this time, we are going tropical!

If nothing else, having to pack for myself and a little guy has made me a lot better at preparing for such events.  I can’t just throw my entire wardrobe and medicine chest in a suitcase anymore.  It takes a lot more planning, lists, and about a week’s worth of preparation.  But it is done.  And frankly, its a lot less stressful this way.

And in the midst of all this, I am supposed to be preparing dinner?  Hmph.  I usually do a pretty good job of not leaving much in the fridge, but I was way ahead of myself with this trip, and the fridge was pretty empty about a week ago.  Oops.  So I had to actually go shopping, less than a week before leaving, so that we wouldn’t also be running around trying to find food.

I made one of my new favorites.  I love finding an easy, simple, healthy staple.

From Appetite for Reduction, this is the 40 Clove Chickpea and Broccoli.  When I came home with the broccoli for this, I found that I already had broccoli (so much for using everything up already), so I doubled the recipe, which really only ends up being 20 cloves of garlic.

I love garlic, and doubled, I think I could have really added enough to make that 40 cloves.  But there would have been so much it wouldn’t have made finding those golden creamy cloves as special.

I don’t typically like to post recipes from cookbooks, especially when I don’t make a single change to them.  So if efforts to keep things even more quick and easy for myself today, someone else posted it here.

This is really good.  Roasted broccoli + roasted chickpeas + roasted garlic = wonderful.  Add in the little bit of brightness from the lemon zest, and you’ve really got yourself an easy winner.

Before I had Simon, I really loved to cook, and I almost never, ever, made the same thing twice.  I took pride in that.  These days I just don’t have as much time to spend in the kitchen, so we are definitely throwing some “regulars” into the mix.  Do you prefer to make the same dishes, or to always be trying something new?

I normally like this with polenta, but I didn’t realize we were out.  So I went with brown rice, making it gluten free, and vegan (of course, polenta would have been as well).  Considering the kind of food that is normally consumed on vacations, it is nice to have some nice, clean meals before we head out.

And with that, I think we are officially on vacation!

4 thoughts on “Last Minute Dinner

Leave a Reply

