Half Marathon Plans

I have good news!  Remember when Simon used to scream when I left him at the Y’s childcare?

Now, he screams when we leave.  He has found a new love, and that love is:  Trucks.

Trucks, trains, cars, anything with wheels, and he is in love.  When we get into the childcare room, he squeals, leans over to be let down, and doesn’t even look at me when I say goodbye.

I could be emotional about it, but I love that I don’t have to worry about him and can stay at the gym a little longer.

This came just in time, because I felt a little bit like I stepped off a clif last week, when I signed up for a local half-marathon.  The longest race I’ve ever done was 8.14 miles, the Great Alhoa Run in Hawaii, but that was 5 years ago, and it didn’t go awesome.

But for the first time, I feel like I have actually set myself up for success with my plan for this half-marathon.  Normally I will sign up for a race as an impetus for starting a workout regimine, and while that is great idea, I never give myself enough time to start up a base as well as train, and I get frustrated or hurt, and don’t do well.

Most standard half marathon training plans are 12 weeks long, and the race isn’t until the 2nd of September, quite a bit longer than 12 weeks from now.  On top of that, I already did the first week of Hal Higdon’s half marathon training plan this past week, and it felt good; I don’t have shin splints, my quads aren’t sore, there is no twinge in my knee.  And while I’m not against it, I didn’t have to walk at all.  I feel like all of those 20 minute workouts have put me a step ahead of where I need to be.

I made myself a training spreadsheet to track my workouts over the next few months.  I can’t help but track my progress somewhere.  I will not be following the program exactly because I have extra time, so I will be repeating a few of the weeks, but the basic plan is pretty easy to adapt for extra time.

So hopefully in a few months I will be able to have one of these:

Although something like this is probably more my style:

So this summer will be spent running:  on the treadmill, with the jogging stroller, on the trail with friends, I will be doing whatever I can to be prepared for my first half-marathon!

As an aside, if things on here look weird for a few days and I don’t post as much as usual, it is because the power cord for my computer died this weekend.  So while I wait for my knockoff power cord to arrive, I will be using my husband’s computer, and I’m not used to it.  But hopefully it will get here hastily!  I miss my Mac already.

5 thoughts on “Half Marathon Plans

  1. I am so excited for you, both with how well Simon is doing in childcare and for your first half-marathon!!! I started my training plan earlier than the 12-weeks prior to my first race and I was so happy I did. I only got up to 11 miles as my longest pre-race run but since I was periodically training on hills I figured that was long enough and it was nice to have more “relaxed” runs those last few weeks before the race. For me the hardest part of training was staying hydrated….I didn’t have a fuel belt and didn’t stop at home or at my car to grab a quick drink and I definitely think that hindered my performance, so I recommend taking water whenever you plan on doing longer runs (for me that’s anything over 6 miles). Good luck!! You’re going to do great 🙂

  2. Exciting! Good luck with the training. I’ve flirted with the idea of training for a half but as soon as the weather turns horrid I wuss out. My goal was to run a half before I turn 30. That gives me one month left to achieve it. Not going to happen 🙂

    Btw, your holiday pics were great in your holiday post! x

    • Thanks! I know just how you feel about the weather, always a great excuse. Lucky (I think) for me, with summer just coming up, I will have no weather excuse! Happy upcoming birthday 😀

  3. Pingback: Oh Fudge, Foiled Again | Oats and Beans and Baby Grow

Leave a Reply

